A letter from Jesus

I sat on the floor of my living room tears flooded my eyes. I can’t do this. I would just get the one diaper out of the laundry and have to change it and start all over.

I was barely 21 and had a newborn baby boy. I felt so unprepared for this. I was so tired I had barely slepted at all last night. My husband who was 20 had just started another new job making minimum wage and he tried so hard to work as many hours he could to stretch that small wage. Yet,after all our bill’s there was absolutely nothing left over. I was using two cloth diapers that I had been given as burp rags for diapers. This was not what I had imagined motherhood to be. Why would anyone sign up for this. My house was a mess. I hadn’t had a hot shower in days. I felt so alone. I wanted to give up. I looked out the window at that moment and saw the postman driving away. I would go get the mail. Maybe the air would calm my screaming child and dry my face from all the tears. I opened the mailbox and thumbed through the stack of overdue bills. Then my eyes saw an unusual letter addressed to my baby boy with no return address. I quickly tore it open and as I started to read the tears again would fill my eyes. It would express how we were know and seen and that our future was planned for success. It wasn’t long or filled with fancy words or on fancy paper. Just a piece of notebook paper written with pencil. Yet to me it was the most beautiful thing I had ever read. It was signed “I love you, Jesus”. There was seven single dollars carefully tucked in the envelope the letter had said that I should buy a pack of diapers. I wiped my face kissed my son and breathed a much needed breath into my lungs. I felt seen. HE SAW US. HE KNEW OUR NAMES.

That letter changed my life forever. I vowed to do whatever I could within my power to help as many mothers to never feel alone or invisible and to share the good news of Jesus and how he is always by our side.

Today I am the Executive director of Life Choices. A non profit that does just what I vowed to do. Bring help and healing to Mothers and families in our community.

Matthew 25:40 says ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Let’s continue to offer help to others around us. Loving and Protecting life should happen everyday as we Love and care for others.

If you are in need of assistance in the Burlington WI area or surrounding communities.

Call 262 763-4871

Leave a comment